SPIC MACAY

Photo

Committee Description

SPIC MACAY, the Society for the Promotion of Indian Classical Music and Culture among Youth is a non-profit, voluntary, apolitical and participatory movement of young people. It is dedicated to enriching education through the spread and appreciation of India's classical heritage and the aesthetics of the Indian classical milieu, especially those of the performing arts. Its aim is to inculcate the spirit of India's classical music and art among youth by organizing concerts, workshops and demonstrative lectures on India's classical music and art, all year round.

SPIC MACAY seeks to conserve and promote an awareness of this rich and heterogeneous cultural tapestry amongst the youth of this country through focus on the classical arts, with their attendant legends, rituals, mythology and philosophy and to facilitate an awareness of their deeper and subtler values.

The hidden agenda of the movement however, would be manifold, namely, to inculcate a sense of service in a truly voluntary spirit, to be custodians of one's own culture and to appreciate and internalize the subtle values enshrined in the arts. The movement appeals to the young energy of the student, seeing as it does, the value of the formative years in school and college.

SPIC MACAY @ NITIE

The SPIC MACAY had a glorious start at NITIE, in 2002, with a Mohan Veena concert by Pandit Vishwa Mohan Bhatt. Since then there has been no looking back. NITIE is one of the most active members of the Mumbai SPICMACAY chapter and gets the choicest of concerts in both Viraasat, and Fest the annual series of concerts held by SPICMACAY, Mumbai.

Padma Talwalkar (Vocal), Nayan Ghosh (Sitar), Sultan Khan (Sarangi), Raja Kale (Vocal), Sonal Mansingh (Odissi), Ustad Abdul Haleem Jaffer Khan, Pt. Buddhadev Das Gupta (Sarod), Shri Aditya Kalyanpur (Tabla) and Shri Rupak Kulkarni (Flute) are some virtuosos whom NITIE has been fortunate enough to host.

In addition to concerts, SPICMACAY, NITIE also organizes a number of cultural events like painting competitions, poetry recitals, quizzes and movie shows aimed at heightening awareness of Indian culture among the members of the NITIE community.

Events and Schedule

Events

  • Mini Virasat : A day long event comprising of either a dance , singing or musical performance.
  • Virasat: A week long cultural festival comprising of all aspects of Indian cultural heritage. Mini Virasat is an eclectic mix of some of the best aspects of virasat-cinema, classical dance and classical music in a four day cultural extravaganza.
  • Heritage Connect: We arrange heritage walk to various locations like Kanheri Caves, Historical park, National Park
  • Movie Screening
  • Arts and Sculptures: In this event we conduct workshop based on art , painting( last year Madhubani Painting ) or clay moulding
  • Food Festival

Schedule

3 Concerts (tradition and cultural vocals, dancing et cetera) are aligned for 3 modules with one food festival in between Feb-March

Photographs (committee members group photo + organized events)

Will let you soon

Committee Mail ID:spicmacay@nitie.ac.in

Social Handel link (FB/Twitter/LinkedIn):Facebook

Committee Structure

Faculty Advisor:- (Name, Mail, Contact No)

Name:-Professor Murthy Shankar
Mail:-smurthy@nitie.ac.in
Contact No. :-+91-97694 01396

Team members:

Senior members
Sr.No. Name Mail ID Contact No Role Responsibility Batch
1. Srijit Jaipuriar Srijit.jaipuriar.2018@nitie.ac.in +91-9930374308 President 2016-2018
2. Dev Boriwal dev.boriwal.2018@ nitie.ac.in +91-9996111988 Vice-President 2016-2018
3. Paridhi Ranjan Paridhi.ranjan.2018@nitie.ac.in +91-8291279709 Treasurer 2016-2018
4. Abhishek Choudhary abhishek.choudhary.2018@nitie.ac.in +91-9584832813 Treasurer 2016-2018
5. Ashiya Bhuyan Ashiya.bhuyan.2018@nitie.ac.in +91-8908627967 -- 2016-2018
6. Revanth Kaza revanth.kaza.2018@nitie.ac.in +91-9772206377 -- 2016-2018
7. Akash Tyagi akash.tyagi.2018@nitie.ac.in +91-9560123767 -- 2016-2018
8. Raghav Sandhu raghav.sandhu.2018@nitie.ac.in +91-9004288071 -- 2016-2018
9. Anuja Mane anuja.mane.2018@nitie.ac.in +91-9209291021 -- 2016-2018
10. A Prathyusha prathyusha.adurthi.2018@nitie.ac.in +91-8985421640 -- 2016-2018
11. Abhishek Singh abhishek.singh.2018@nitie.ac.in +91-8287458392 -- 2016-2018
12. Girish Gupta girish.gupta.2018@nitie.ac.in +91-8052282627 -- 2016-2018
Junior members
Sr.No. Name Mail ID Contact No Role Responsibility Batch
1. Neeraj Kumar Singh neeraj.singh.2019@ nitie.ac.in +91-9918114710 NA 2017-2019
2. Akshay Bhat akshay.bhat.2019@ nitie.ac.in +91-7006943219 NA 2017-2019
3. Ashutosh Dave ashutosh.dave.2019@nitie.ac.in +91-9687084767 NA 2017-2019
4. Jyoti Kushwaha Jyoti.kushwaha.2019@nitie.ac.in +91-8130512925 NA 2017-2019
5. Siddharth Gautam Siddarth.gautam.2019@nitie.ac.in +91-9456054894 NA 2017-2019
6. Yalini Chaturvedi Yalini.chaturvedi.2019@nitie.ac.in +91-9163239625 NA 2017-2019
7. Tirthankar Bose Tirthankar.bose.2019@nitie.ac.in +91-8910514892 NA 2017-2019
8. Arnab Sarkar Arnab.sarkar.2019@nitie.ac.in +91-8981462034 NA 2017-2019
9. Pranit Kumar Purohit Pranit.purohit.2019@nitie.ac.in +91-9438228301 NA 2017-2019
10. Shweta Yadav Shweta.yadav.2019@nitie.ac.in +91-9584515651 NA 2017-2019
Back to Top